Product Features Summary

Firework Safety Distance

Remember to always treat fireworks with care. They may be fun and exciting but never forget that they are explosives. This should not put you off using them as when handled correctly they provide that extra touch to any party celebration.

There are three types of fire available to the general retail public – CAT.1, CAT.2 and CAT.3. These category of fireworks are described further below.

  • CAT.1 fireworks are usually assigned to indoor fireworks and most often can be hand-held
  • CAT.2 and CAT.3 and fundamentally the same and are suitable to be used in small gardens. They carry a minimum safety distance of 5 to 8 metres (depending on their intensity). Category 3 fireworks are for much larger gardens and carry a minimum safety distance of 25 metres
  • CAT.4 fireworks are non-retail fireworks. They are for professional use only! We do not supply CAT.4 fireworks

Firework Duration

Many consumers often ask the question.....”how long will my display last for?” To help answer your questions all our products indicate time duration of display.

Firework Categories

  • Category 1 - Usually given to indoor fireworks. This category refers to fireworks which pose a minimal hazard
  • Category 2 - Commonly referred to as garden fireworks, these products require the smallest distance which is 5 metres if the firework is classified to British Standards. An increasing number of fireworks to be manufactured in the coming years may be classified to new EU/EN standards and the safety distance which is 8 metres
  • Category 3 - Also known as display fireworks, require the greatest distance which is 25 metres for fireworks classified to British Standards. Again, in coming years you may see a number of fireworks classified to the new EU/EN standards and although the firework will still be Category 3 it may have a different safety distance requirement
  • Category 4 - Fireworks are for professional use only. These can include aerial shells and other items banned for sale to the public. Many category 4 fireworks are supplied without a fuse and are extremely dangerous to the untrained

Firework Classification

Fireworks are classified for both storage and transportation purposes. Retail consumer fireworks are classified for transportation as either 1.4S or 1.4G. 1.4S can be transported by road, train, sea or air freight, whilst 1.4G can NOT be transported by air.

In terms of storage requirements for consumers, the limits for storing fireworks at home without storage registrations are:

  • Up to 5kg NEC can be stored for an unlimited time
  • Up to 50kg NEC can be stored for up to three weeks
  • Up to 250kg NEC can be stored for up to three consecutive days and in their place of intended use

Firework Noise Level

Fireworks can frighten both people and animals. The elderly and children in particular are often scared and intimidated by firework noise. Fireworks are explosives and similarly for animals, the impact of loud noise can also be severe. Disturbing domestic pets can be harmful too. Our fireworks are summarised by noise level with a figure between 1 and 5. One being the quietest and 5 being the most loudest

  • 1 = Not Loud
  • 2 = Mellow
  • 3 = Moderate
  • 4 = Loud
  • 5 = Thunderous

Unfortunately, it is very difficult to create firework explosions without an element of noise. After all the fireworks need to ignite and explode to provide the beautiful displays they are known for. At YTM Fireworks we aim to cater for all requirements.